The Groups


Astrology is extremely debated and is becoming increasingly popular throughout this century. More and more people are more interested in their Zodiac sign, even learning about their whole birth chart.  Your sun sign is the first sign in your listed birth chart, and is the most important and pervasive influence in your horoscope and in many ways determines how others see you as a person. Although your sign may be Aries, that does not mean you are automatically a more aggressive or hard-headed person. An accurate description of a person is solely not based on their sun sign, there are many other placements such as your moon sign or your mercury sign.

The twelve signs are all divided into groups, twos, fours, threes, and sixes. All twelve signs are divided into two groups, masculine and feminine. A masculine sign is direct and energetic; a Feminine sign is receptive and magnetic. These attributes were given to the signs about 2,000 years ago and today, modern astrologers try to avoid sexism implicit in these divides.  The masculine signs of the zodiac are Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, and Aquarius. In modern terminology, the Masculine signs are defined as outer-directed and strong through action. The Feminine signs of the zodiac are Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, and Pisces. Feminine signs are self-contained and strong through inner action. 

The twelve signs are also divided into four groups containing three signs each. Each three-sign group is called a triplicity, and each of these triplicities denotes an element. In astrology, an element symbolizes a fundamental characteristic of the sign. The fire signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, and they are active and enthusiastic. The earth signs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn and they are practical and stable. The air signs are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius and they are intellectual and communicative. The water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces and they are emotional and intuitive. 

The twelve signs are divided into three groups containing four signs each.  Each four sign group is called a quadruplicity and each of these quadruplicities denotes a quality. In astrology, the quality signifies the signs’ interactions with the outside world. The Cardinal signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn. The Cardinal signs are outgoing and like to initiate. The Fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius. The fixed signs are resistant to change, perfectors and finishers. The Mutable signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. The Mutable signs are Flexible, Versatile, and adaptive. They are able to adjust to different circumstances. 

The signs are divided into six groups containing two signs each. Each two-sign group is called polarity. Each sign in the zodiac has a polarity which is its opposite sign in the other half of their zodiac. The two signs express opposite characteristics.  Aries is the sign of self, and Libra is the sign of partnership. Taurus is the sign of personal possessions and Scorpio is the sign of legacies and shared possessions. Cancer is the sign of home life and Capricorn is the sign of public life. Leo is the sign of personal pleasure and creativity and Aquarius is the sign of hopes and ideals on a larger scale. Virgo is the sign of work and self-improvement and Pisces is the sign of dreams and self-delusion.